Vista 32 bits with 4gb memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2007, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 27
Default Vista 32 bits with 4gb memory

im about to setup my new comp. i already bought 4 gb (1 x 4) pc2 6400 memory and i will install them on a vista ultimate 32 bits version.

i been reading about 32 bits xp and vista cannot handle 4gb of memory by defaults.

But it can be fixed with this:


1) Access cmd: Click on the Start Pearl > type cmd in the Search Bar > and press Ctrl + Shift + Enter (this allows you to run cmd in administrative mode)

2) Type BCDEdit /set PAE forceenable

“BCDEdit is a boot configuration editor for the command line. Using the above command you’ve just enabled Physical Address Extension (PAE) which can address memory larger than 4 GB. ”

To undo, just type “BCDEdit /deletevalue PAE” , this will remove the added PAE settings.

Do you recommend doing this? or better installing 64 bits version?

I want to run Halo 2 pc, will this game run either on 32 bits or 64 bits version?

janoloco is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Vista 32 bits with 4gb memory

I'm pretty sure that the 64 bit editions can still run 32 bit (32 or 64 bit) apps, though my PC is only 32 bit XP and my parent's comp (Athlon64 X2 3800+) is on the 32 bit Vista, not the 64.


CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Vista 32 bits with 4gb memory

Yes Vista 64 can run 32 bit applications.

I recommend you go for the 64 bit version. It's slightly faster and you won't have problems addressing the memory.
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Memory Problem AntonOle New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-15-2007 12:46 PM
Vista and MSI K8N Neo 2 Motherboard Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-26-2007 08:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 03:48 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 02:12 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 11:03 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.