Vista 32 bit or 64 bit - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: size of yours
below 1gb 0 0%
1gb 2 22.22%
2gb 3 33.33%
4gb 3 33.33%
8gb 1 11.11%
16gb 0 0%
32gb 0 0%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2007, 01:39 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Regarding my "new computer needed" comment...(considering I am a gamer, which most TechForum members are, and many computer users)... am I wrong in saying that Vista supports DX10 and for DX10 you'll need a new video card and that video card and the games you want to play will require at least 2 Gbs of ram and that video card will require an larger power supply and these new DX10 games will need a faster processor and if i am needing a faster processor than I need a new motherboard and at this point I would say this IS a new computer....

..now all you geeks who have a 6 month old or newer C2 system are fine....woopee for you...

..but cheapass guys like me who spent enough coin on a Prescott system 18 months ago don't want to spend all there paychecks on a new system every year...

Ive never blamed Microsoft here...in fact im using them right now...i just wont spend $200-300 for an OS right now that wont benefit me...why the **** would I? If you dont game and find all the new fancy features make your business or daily emails and forums more useful than, by all means support Vista right now...personally I'm gonna wait a while, til prices drop, kinks are worked out and other related features (DX10) are in black and white, not a pale opinion of people who have jumped the gun for bragging rights...


Cheers.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 07:03 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

thank you guyz...... on let me decide on vista...
Finally , today i installed the copy 32 bit vista on my machine and also
installed another 1GB of DDR2 RAM........
__________________

zoomie999 is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 04:21 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zoomie999
thank you guyz...... on let me decide on vista...
Finally , today i installed the copy 32 bit vista on my machine and also
installed another 1GB of DDR2 RAM........
Sorry you didn't get much input. You asked for help about 32 bit vs 64 bit, and everyone just wanted to argue about whether to upgrade to Vista or not.

Personally, I'm going the 32 bit route. I don't think the world will be totally ready for 64 bit until the next OS comes out anyway.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 07:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Ya ^ sorry bout that....go with the 32 bit.

Good luck!
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:20 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: Vista 32 bit or 64 bit

soz for poll i thought i started new thread
robina_80 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 09:44 AM   #26 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Vista 32 bit or 64 bit

Since I've upgraded to 2gigs of ddr2 "gaming" ram, no problem occured on my vista OS. Now I can run simultaneously Adobe Illustrator, Fireworks, dreamweaver & Photoshop while having opera with 10 tabs opened, listening to music and running sidebar and objectdock. If i tried to do this before it would bsod me all the time. I actually tripple boot Vista, XP & Ubuntu, but I use Vista the most. There are surely some incompartibilities but does not mean anything bad. I mean incompartibilities are to be fixed after sp1/sp2.
__________________

__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.