Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2008, 04:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
thewalesaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to thewalesaver Send a message via MSN to thewalesaver Send a message via Yahoo to thewalesaver
Question Vista

so, im having a problem with Vista. shocker.
when i try to open a documents window or any window that requires explorer.exe, not iexplore.exe (internet explorer), the window will stay open for about 10 seconds, then explorer.exe will close/crash, removing my taskbar, desktop icons, and the window. i would really appreciate some help, since hp chat doesnt help much. their method for everything, download patches and using system restore, isnt working. another shocker.
__________________

thewalesaver is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default Re: Vista

Do you have service pack 1 installed?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista

Guess what. You corrupted your install. Back up and reinstall.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milton Keynes, England
Posts: 15
Send a message via MSN to PhantomCrash
Default Re: Vista

If you want to get explorer.exe back just use Task Manager to re-run it. There are loads of people who have found this problem within Vista.

Try using this: http://download.sysinternals.com/Fil...ssExplorer.zip

Try to see what is causing the crash, and start killing applications 1 by 1, careful not to kill a service that is windows critical.
Hopefully you will see someting happen when the crash occurs.
You can also check you device manager for issues.
PhantomCrash is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
thewalesaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to thewalesaver Send a message via MSN to thewalesaver Send a message via Yahoo to thewalesaver
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcortes View Post
Do you have service pack 1 installed?
To tell you the truth, i really dont know.
I cant update anything with Windows Update because I get errors when i try to install them.
And now I cant open Control Panel > Check for Updates because it requires explorer.exe, which keeps closing.
How can I tell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Guess what. You corrupted your install. Back up and reinstall.
it would be nice to know what youre talking about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomCrash View Post
If you want to get explorer.exe back just use Task Manager to re-run it. There are loads of people who have found this problem within Vista.

Try using this: http://download.sysinternals.com/Fil...ssExplorer.zip

Try to see what is causing the crash, and start killing applications 1 by 1, careful not to kill a service that is windows critical.
Hopefully you will see someting happen when the crash occurs.
You can also check you device manager for issues.
i know how to bring it back, but i dont want to bring it back every 10 seconds and then navigate back to where i was all over again.
that application is a little too difficult for me to use, instructions would be nice. :happy:
Also, device manager shows one issue. in the hidden devices.
-npkcrypt
Im not sure what it does, but it has a yellow ! mark on it.
thewalesaver is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista

The install of Vista is corrupt. There is no repair function in Vista which means you have no option but to format and reinstall.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
thewalesaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to thewalesaver Send a message via MSN to thewalesaver Send a message via Yahoo to thewalesaver
Cool Re: Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
The install of Vista is corrupt. There is no repair function in Vista which means you have no option but to format and reinstall.
vista was preinstalled on this laptop before it was bought.
thewalesaver is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista

Then it should have a Recovery Partition which you can use to create a Vista DVD with. Hit F11 or F12 at boot and go to the Recovery Partition. There should be some way to burn a Vista DVD from that.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
thewalesaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to thewalesaver Send a message via MSN to thewalesaver Send a message via Yahoo to thewalesaver
Question Re: Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Then it should have a Recovery Partition which you can use to create a Vista DVD with. Hit F11 or F12 at boot and go to the Recovery Partition. There should be some way to burn a Vista DVD from that.
what do i need to burn a vista dvd for?
thewalesaver is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 08:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Vista

You need to reinstall Vista. You current install is corrupt. That is why the explorer.exe fails every 10 seconds. Only way to fix it is to reinstall Vista.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Microsoft offers a Vista two-for deal Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-01-2008 04:17 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.