vista.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2007, 12:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 19
Default vista..

Im looking to buy a computer but cannot seem to decide what operating system to get. Its either xp home or vista premium. Ive posted a topic similar to this but i want to get more views on vista. Is it worth purchasing now or are there still to many problems with it ? can it run all games that were for xp like sims 2, wow, medieval 2 etc ? Will 2gb ram be enough to run it without a slow decrease in performance. Will the 512mb 8800gt run smoothly on dx10 ? and finally is it easy to connect to a wireless network like windows xp was ?
__________________

lynxthechosen0 is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: vista..

Vista is fine, it will run all your game excellently if you have an 8800GT and 2gb of RAM...don't go buying an old operating system that is being phased out.

Oh and I would get 64 bit just in case you decide to upgrade to 4gb of memory in the future.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: vista..

Vista has everything that xp has but more of it. The 8800Gt is more than enough for any game coming out this year. Whatever you do though, DO NOT BUY BASIC. Make sure you get home premium, and i would suggest the 64bit version.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: vista..

I have vista and all the games I use run fine. You can run programs in compatibility mode as well, if it won't run right.

2 gigs is plenty...Normally vista uses about 40% of 2 gigs for me, and I've never seen it go past 55%-60%. It only gets up around 60% while doing something more intensive, like video encoding or something.

If you build a computer, you'll get both editions of Vista (32 and 64 bit), so you can always change if you decide you want more RAM. I use the 32 bit, because of lack of driver support for 64.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: vista..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
I use the 32 bit, because of lack of driver support for 64.
which actually there is quite of right now
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: vista..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
I have vista and all the games I use run fine. You can run programs in compatibility mode as well, if it won't run right.

2 gigs is plenty...Normally vista uses about 40% of 2 gigs for me, and I've never seen it go past 55%-60%. It only gets up around 60% while doing something more intensive, like video encoding or something.

If you build a computer, you'll get both editions of Vista (32 and 64 bit), so you can always change if you decide you want more RAM. I use the 32 bit, because of lack of driver support for 64.
This is only correct if you buy the retail version of Vista, which is roughly 2.5x the cost of an oem version. You can pick up vista home premium 64 for about 110+shipping at newegg or vista home premium 32 from microcenter for 79.99+shipping if you dont plan to ever use more than 2gb of memory.

Oh another thing people seems to forget about. The memory on your video card also counts towards that 3.5ish gb of memory that 32bit OS's can access. So if you plan to go with lots of video memory and 2-3gb of system memory 64bit is the way to go. Right now my system only reads 2.5gb of my system memory due to the 1024mb of video memory from my 2 cards.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: vista..

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
which actually there is quite of right now
Well, at the time I built my computer, I was not sure about the 64 bit drivers. So I just went with 32, seeing as how it was my first build, I didn't want to have to deal with any problems.

But if there is support now, then go for it.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Re: vista..

For your usage, I would actually recommend Vista. The games you are looking at aren't too demanding and if you are looking for a home OS, you probably aren't a super power user. Heavy gamers and power users typically see the greatest problems with Vista at this time.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.