vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 05:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default vista

i was thinking of upgrading to windows vista? can i? which version should i use? what kinda things do i have to make sure i have in order to download and buy?
__________________

laptop58 is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 06:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay need more info.

What are your specs?

The version is up to you. Choose the best one that fits your needs.

Make sure you have everything you want when you buy it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 06:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

I AM RUNNING WINDOWS XP

IT'S A GATEWAY MX6436 LAPTOP
laptop58 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 06:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay Integrated GFX, that doesnthelp. 512 MB RAM is the required not recommened stats.

Basically i would say Home Basic. It doesnt have Aero, which your integrated graphics cant do anyways. It willb e sluggish since it has the least amount of RAM required.

Home Basic would be your best option. I have seen systems running with 512 and integrated GFX and Vista Home Premium and they were slowwwww. About 10 minutes to boot.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Low end processor & Low Memory & Graphics Chipset = Slow boot, even with XP.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to sethenos
Default

Personally I would recommend that you simply get a new laptop if you want to waste money on Vista Thats mainly because 90% of the reason Vista is any good (in my opinion) is that it looks sexy, and has Direct X 10. Stick with something like XP if your going to use a laptop with those specs.

My recommended specs for a pleasant Vista experience:

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor (2.0 Ghz recommended)
1 Gig of DDR2 RAM
Dedicated Graphics Card (ATI X1600 or NVIDIA 7600 Recommended)
80 Gig hard drive

That right there will give you a pleasant experience even with Areo. If you had the specs above I would go with Premium. With what you have right now, I agree with Makaveli213, go with Home Basic.
__________________

sethenos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.