Virus stuck in System restore folder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2004, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Angry Virus stuck in System restore folder

I have been having problems with a trojan residing in my system restore folder. I have used the system restore utility a few times, and it has helped me out quite a bit until now. I am running Mcafee 7.0, and every maybe 30 minutes an alert pops up letting me know that I have a virus in my System restore folder. I am unable to clean or delete this file, and it is driving me insane. Someone please help me!
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

right click my computer...go to properties...go to system rystore...turn it off...click apply...everything will get deleted...turn it back on...if youd like


and may i suggest getting a better antivirus program...mcafee is one of the worst out there...
id suggest getting Panda AV Platinum 7.0
__________________

__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

Thanks much...seems to have worked

panda av....freeware???
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Grimey
and may i suggest getting a better antivirus program...mcafee is one of the worst out there...
id suggest getting Panda AV Platinum 7.0
I couldn't agree more - McAfee IMHO is not as effective as Norton and some others out there.

PC Cillian used to be free - but now you have to pay for it. If i was not a Norton user, I would definitely buy it. Panda AV... i'm not sure i've read so many good reviews of that in PC magazines. At any rate, if it works for you - use it.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 03:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I despise Norton, all it does is F up your computer both of my friends used norton and it ruined their computer.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

I prefer ezarmor by etrust which also comes with a firewall. neat, effective, minor sys load.....and the best of all i got it free for a year!!!
jaksback is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

I prefer Norton Internet Security2002. It came bundled with my mobo.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 08:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I prefer none, and just enjoy the time it takes from my life for me to manually fix it


No, I'm not serious.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
I despise Norton, all it does is F up your computer both of my friends used norton and it ruined their computer.
errrr... that must be why Norton has more than 35% of the market share. You sure that 'F up' wasn't due to ID10T error rather than a software issue? Been using Norton for more than 5 years now... haven't had one single issue on my pc yet.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.