virus might be blocking internet need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2005, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to nate
Default virus might be blocking internet need help

hey some one sended me a picture and there was a viruse in it and when i went t turn on my computer did not have internt all of a sudden so i unpluging the internet cable form the router and then see if that works it dint and i kept trying to figure out how to get it up but coulent i not computer smart yet hopeing to be but anyway. i opend my virus sys and then it found the virus and i got rid of it er deleted the file right then i shut off my computer then i had to go to school would that of fixed the problem. and i dont want to reformat is there a way not to reformat and get it working??. also i have some pop up error wndow that say's someabout a Gll er what ever dont know what that is ill give ya the whole thing when i see it pop up agin but i need advice i run on window's XP home edition. and the virus is like some trojen er something like that I NEED ADVICE PLZ
__________________

nate is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

When your computer is turning on, press F8 and enter safe mode. Run a virus scan in safe mode.
__________________

__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to nate
Default

well what if i already deleted it alrdy should i do it any way just in case??
nate is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

if you have antivirus, so a scan or download a free one. Also use a spyware remover, such as spyware doctor.
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.