virus? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default virus?

OK, now does this sound like a virus or a hardware problem?? I have another computer, and just within the last hour, after windows is loaded, maybe a minute or so later, everything just locks up. Nothing loads, my mouse pointer doesn't move, my keyboard does nothing, so basically everything in windows freezes. First, how do i check to make sure all my hardware is allright, and secondly, is this probably some type of virus i got??
__________________

wrgilbert is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

lets check msconfig first. go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup and click disable all and reboot and see what happens
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

what will this do exactly??
wrgilbert is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

disable items on startup
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you know how some programs automatically open when you boot your computer? well, this just makes them not come up.
it can also mean that if a virus has put itself in the list to run on boot, it will no-longer do so.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default

when i type in msconfig what you said doesnt come up. I have windows 2000. Is there maybe something else i put in there?
__________________

wrgilbert is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.