VirtualPC, DOS, Audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 04:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 64
Default VirtualPC, DOS, Audio

All old gamers know, it can be a real pain the butt trying to get audio working in a DOS game. I remember being like 2 bytes short of conventional memory after spending two hours trying to find a way to stuff enough of my drivers into UMB, trying to get some game or another to run with sound.

That's the fun part of DOS though. I've forgotten more DOS tricks than I'll ever be able to learn again. I've just taken up Microsoft VirtualPC and setup a virtual 486 with 32MB of RAM. Now, I can't seem to get the sound working.

Anyone happen to have the specs on the Virtual PC's system? Like, resource allocations and physical settings for all the devices, things like that. Microsoft's VirtualPC (or at least the trial version) is sorely lacking in effective documentation. I suppose I could install win95 on this one and use AIDA32 and Device Manager to get the answers, but that seems a lot of unnecessary clicks and keystrokes for information that should be more readily available.

So, anyone happen to know the IRQ DMA and I/O Ports that MSVPC assigns to its SoundBlaster? I wanna get these old games going....

Cheers
DiggerB
__________________

diggerB is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 05:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Try change to VMware. Is better compare to Virtual PC.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Try change to VMware. Is better compare to Virtual PC.
Well, that would leave me in the same position wouldn't it?

Unless VMWare has fully documented all its specific settings for all its virtual devices, that is.

If anyone has managed to set up a good working MS-DOS with sound and over 600KB Conventional RAM remaining under VirtualPC OR VMWare, let me know how you did it.

Cheers

DiggerB
diggerB is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 01:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 64
Default

Alas, those are precisely the settings I was using. I guess the SoundBlaster emulation in VirtualPC for DOS just doesn't quite pull it off. The drivers just won't recognize the card. I've tried SB16, SBPro, and SBPro2 drivers, with no success.

I will try VMWare, but I have a funny feeling that's not going to go over much better. Any stories? Any solutions?
diggerB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.