virtual memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default virtual memory

I keep getting a warning message (virtual memory low),what does that means....how can I fix that ...
thanks
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

It means that you have a small amount of ram and your pagefile (swap file / virtual memory) is getting full. This can be fixed depending on how big your HDD is and what operating system your running. Let us know these two things and we can help.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Follow this and set your maximum to 1000mb.

http://www.wown.com/j_helmig/wxpvmem.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

i have 40 gb and running windows xp home
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 07:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did it work?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

type msconfig in the run box and uncheck all of those apps, that are running in the background except your antivirus and email program

and go to display properties and change the xp theme to windows classic. change the appearance to classics too. then put whatever picture you want as desktop background. this will free unnecessary used ram.
EricB is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

ya its working..but should i move it to a diffrent drive
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 11:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Move what to a different drive?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.