Virtual Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2005, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default Virtual Memory

What does it mean? Sometimes I get a message that says that my comp is low on virtual memory. It happens while I'm playing games or when I'm done playing a game.
__________________

Therock is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default



from http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/v/virtual_memory.html

virtual memory

(n.) An imaginary memory area supported by some operating systems (for example, Windows but not DOS) in conjunction with the hardware. You can think of virtual memory as an alternate set of memory addresses. Programs use these virtual addresses rather than real addresses to store instructions and data. When the program is actually executed, the virtual addresses are converted into real memory addresses.
The purpose of virtual memory is to enlarge the address space, the set of addresses a program can utilize. For example, virtual memory might contain twice as many addresses as main memory. A program using all of virtual memory, therefore, would not be able to fit in main memory all at once. Nevertheless, the computer could execute such a program by copying into main memory those portions of the program needed at any given point during execution.

To facilitate copying virtual memory into real memory, the operating system divides virtual memory into pages, each of which contains a fixed number of addresses. Each page is stored on a disk until it is needed. When the page is needed, the operating system copies it from disk to main memory, translating the virtual addresses into real addresses.

The process of translating virtual addresses into real addresses is called mapping. The copying of virtual pages from disk to main memory is known as paging or swapping.
______________________________________

Real-World Answers about Virtual Memory
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 09:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

So if I want to increase the virtual memory I'd have to have more disk space?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Nice link Samuels.... good find and thanks for providing the source!


As far as Disk space needed, the computer automatically sets aside a certain amount of disk space for virtual memory (Also known as the "page" file).

Depending on the size of your hard drive, window will usually set a percentage. You can also manually change this by going into system settings.

WinXP
Right Click on "My Computer" and go to "Properties" then click on the "Advanced" tab. There you can click on the "Settings" button in the Performance section. Click on the "Advanced" tab and you will see the Virtual Memory section on the bottom and amount alloted. If you want to change it just hit the Change Button.

Win2k
Right Click on "My Computer" and go to "Properties" then click on the "Advanced" tab. There you can click on the "Performance Options" button in the Performance section.

You will see the section called Virtual Memory then click on "Change."
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 11:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You can set the VM to a max of 4096 each. It should help you out.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...989#post246989
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to kirkmears Send a message via Yahoo to kirkmears
Default

it means you need to buy new or additional RAM memory to easily increase your performance
__________________

__________________
PW5 64, E6300@2.8, X1900XT, (5) 74GB RAPTORs, 2GB Corsair XMS800, ATI HDTV Wonder, DELL 30\"
kirkmears is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.