Virtual Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2004, 05:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Randah
Default Virtual Memory

Hey i was wondering if i could get some suggestions on what to set my virtual memory at. I never get a low virtual memory error but i know when my computer had to use the vm it crashes n just reboots...so this is what i have...I have 512mb of ram and a 40gb hdd partitioned into 2 20gb partitions..and my vm is set to custom i think it might just be default cuz i never set it...

On my C drive i have 4179MB of space available and the initial size and max size are both set to 2, and i know thats wrong...so i wanna fix it...

On my D drive i have 17543MV of space available with the initial size set to 720 and the max size set to 1440MB

Now i was wondering if i should tinker with those numbers or just set both my drives to "system managed size" rather then custom

Your help is muchly appreciated...Thanks a bunch

Randah
__________________

Randah is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 06:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

minimum 800
maximum 800

on the XP partition
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

I heard if you have 512MB or better, you can actually disable the Pagefile. However, some applications look for it, so you can set an 8MB pagefile. I have 1GB of RAM, two 7200RPM 80GB hard drives, and I have the pagefile on the second (not system) drive, min 256MB and max 512MB. Seems to work pretty good.
__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD¬ĪR Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...989#post246989
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: Virtual Memory

Quote:
Originally posted by Randah
...I have 512mb of ram and a 40gb hdd partitioned into 2 20gb partitions..and my vm is set to custom i think it might just be default cuz i never set it...
Your best bet is to let windows handle it. XP will handle the page much better than you tweaking it.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

thats not entirely true. some people get better performance by playing with that option.
sunsider is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sunsider
thats not entirely true. some people get better performance by playing with that option.
And just what games would that be Sunsider? Tell me what kind of certifications or experience do you have to back that up? The internet is full of teenage punks who have nothing better to do than just to spew out non-sensical gibberish.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

I would go with the major's suggestion on the vm size, if you find it does not work gor you, you can always go back to the defaults.

~Fawks
Red Fox is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Red Fox
I would go with the major's suggestion on the vm size, if you find it does not work gor you, you can always go back to the defaults.~Fawks
So let's look at that.

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
minimum 800
maximum 800
on the XP partition
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lone Wolf
And just what games would that be Sunsider?
Where do you get games from? He was asking about virtual memory ..
__________________

sunsider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.