virtual address - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default virtual address

Can someone please tell me what area of virtual address space is reserved for the core operating system components?

TIA
__________________

24giovanni is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

this explains it very well.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_address_space
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

I am sorry but it didn't so can someone please answer my question...

TIA
24giovanni is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

This?


__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

brady, what area of virtual address space is reserved for the core operating system components? In other words how much space it takes whether its kb or mb or gb please.
24giovanni is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

EDITED :

Sorry man, I read it wrong. I thought you were askin "where" it was allocated to... My bad.



NT allocates 4GB of address space for each application with 2GBs reserved for the operating system and 2GBs reserved for the application. Windows 2000 and NT4 SP3 or later allow you to change the 2/2 split to 1GB for the operating system and 3 GBs for the application. This would obviously benefit SQL server or Oracle databases. If you have a large amount of memory and an application that can benefit from changing the 2/2 default, you add the parm /3GB to boot options lines in BOOT.INI.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

my bad...i should of said on win 9x machine, sorry what would it be for that please. Oh, and thanks a lot for your help. would it be 0-1 mb or 1-2MB. I assume 1-2?
24giovanni is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 07:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

by looking at this



Should I say it's 2-3mb? or just 1MB?

Can I please get an answer?

Thanks
24giovanni is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

bump
24giovanni is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Sorry for the delay... Had a lot of work to do....


12Mb for Core Operating System Components for 9x Machines.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.