viewpoint media player - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 04:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes, try using GAIM or Trilliam as alternatives to AIM.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 05:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i downloaded the spymaster, hopefully it should keep the nasties out of my pc

hey the red hard disk light flashes every now and then, i got no word documents open.

you think there is some nasty virus lurking on my hard disk
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

viewpoint mp comes with netscape or aol products. nothing malicous will happen to you. Aol is legitimate spyware, meaning no adware program will pick it up
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

actually the icon on my desktop said vmp.....exe and i did a search for it on google, came up with viewpoint media player. i have deleted the icon now
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Yes, try using GAIM or Trilliam as alternatives to AIM.
no offense or anything but i disagree completely. AOL browser and Internet is FULL of spyware/adware and more. but AIM is not i have it and never have spyware. (spybot, spyware sweeper both up to date) sorry i have to disagree with that though..

as for the topic:
get spybot S&D very nice (free) lot of signitures on here have links if u want it and i have viewpoint.. but just viewpoint i dont recall installing it either but it isn't ne thing bad i guess b/kus none of my scanners pick it up. hope it helps
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 01:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to RevCor632
Default

Just because a scanner doesn't pick it up doesn't mean it's not spyware. Someone already said why scanners don't get it, because it's from AOL, a legit company.
RevCor632 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 05:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

its what some websites use instead of flash. I dont install it, as there is no uninstall feature, and a hassle to have.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.