Viewing web page created in Word in IE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 02:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default Viewing web page created in Word in IE

Need some help...

I created a simple web page in Word, simply going to be used as a 'Home Page' with links that are visited regularly. When it opens in IE, i get the info bar telling me "To help protect your security, Internet Explorer has restricted this file from showing active content that could access your computer. Click here for options...'

It then give me the option to allow the blocked content and nothing on the page itself changes.

I've played with the trusted sites settings and other security settings... i even set the security settings by enabling everything, changing any disabled or prompt items to enabled... and i still get it.

Anyone have any ideas?

I've attached the source file if anyone wants to browse through it.

just another point: it works perfectly fine in Mozilla - however where i need to use it i can't install Mozilla.
Attached Files
File Type: txt source.txt (30.4 KB, 34 views)
__________________

htcs is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use frontpage or Netscape composer to upload it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you click on save as webpage? I just did it and I didnt get any info bar but I do know what you are talking about
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Portable Firefox... for those of us who can't stand IE but can't install on the work computer.

Download and install in its own folder and you're set.
Dngrsone is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Sounds great... but i can't use Firefox now for another reason. A site called MLXchange (used by realestate agents) will not work in firefox - it MUST be IE.... dammit - IE Sucks
htcs is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

The same thing happens to me when I build a web page in dreamweaver and preview it in IE. I think it has more to do with running a web page from a local folder or something.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.