Video splitting progrems?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2004, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Question Video splitting progrems??

Hey guys, I've been using AVI MPEG ASF WMV Splitter, as well as other progrems to split large video files into smaller ones to make them fit on CDs. However, lately I've been noticing that the sound doesn't play accordingly as the video...for example, when a person in the movie is saying something, but the sound only plays 5-10 seconds after the person has already talked...now I know it's not the particular movie, because before I split it, it plays perfectly...so what would be a good way to split large files, without loosing the sound? Please don't suggest that I buy a DVD burner and burn these movies as a whole. Thanks, any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Current System Specifications:
Motherboard-->MSI-VIA KT4v
CPU -->AMD Athlon XP 2100
RAM -->512MB of PC2700
Hard Drive -->WD 40 G-2MB Cache, and WD 80 G-8MB Cache
Video Card -->ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Case -->Antec Performence 2 (full-tower)
Power Supply-->Antec SmartPower 400Watt
Red Beret is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

if you want the best results...use adobe premier, then export the files using a codec...i use sorenson.
__________________

rollincatera is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Default

well that sounds good, except that I'm not that smart when it comes to computers..so can you explain this better please? How do I use that Adobe Premier? How do I use the codec?
__________________
Current System Specifications:
Motherboard-->MSI-VIA KT4v
CPU -->AMD Athlon XP 2100
RAM -->512MB of PC2700
Hard Drive -->WD 40 G-2MB Cache, and WD 80 G-8MB Cache
Video Card -->ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Case -->Antec Performence 2 (full-tower)
Power Supply-->Antec SmartPower 400Watt
Red Beret is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

basically all you do is import the movie file into the premier timeline. once the scene is in the timeline, you'll goto "export as movie". there you will have many options on how you want your final movie clip to be. you can change codecs, movie quality, audio quality and much more. It'll even show you the final file size as your changing around settings(in premier pro only i beleive).

if you want the best quality. use premier. otherwise, avid or final cut pro also do the same thing.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 309
Send a message via Yahoo to sippin codeine
Default

Dude I have the same problems, I have downloaded large AVI files that need to be splitted in half to make 2 SVCD'S, but on some the sound is out of sync after I split it.
I was using VirtualDub to split the files.
__________________
**[System specs]**

Delphi Enterprise 6 - 7
VB 6.0 - 2005 EE
sippin codeine is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 03:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

You should record the sound and video separetely
Demalii is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 02:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Default

OH o.k I get it now, so I should use Primire to edit movie files automatically...o.k. Thanks Guys.
__________________

__________________
Current System Specifications:
Motherboard-->MSI-VIA KT4v
CPU -->AMD Athlon XP 2100
RAM -->512MB of PC2700
Hard Drive -->WD 40 G-2MB Cache, and WD 80 G-8MB Cache
Video Card -->ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Case -->Antec Performence 2 (full-tower)
Power Supply-->Antec SmartPower 400Watt
Red Beret is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.