Video Playback Problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 12:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Not the repair console, windows repair...

Read Below:

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks, that was kind of stupid of me. I'll try that and get back to you.
__________________

salonso is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I don't have that option in the menu to repair windows. As soon as I select the drive it tells me what I file system I want to format the drive with and after that it says that I'll lose everything on that drive so I backed out. What "warning #2" are you refering to by the way? I read all of the options presented and nothing would let me repair the system without wiping everything off.
salonso is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Sorry everyone, I fixed the problem but forgot to write back. The problem was really simple, and I don't know why I didn't realize it sooner. I simply went into the display properties and got rid of the hardware acceleration and everything was fine again.
__________________

salonso is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.