video input no signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2005, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default video input no signal

Video input

No signal

(picture of the connecting point where you plug the monitor inot tyhe video card)


Okay thats what it shows me just reandomly, then restarts the computer, then can't start up, then turns off, and cannot restart for likke 15 minutes. I have no idea. Anyways, i tried changing the video cards, that isn't it! So last thing i can think of is the monitor drivers possibly? Im so confused, someone help me please!
__________________

canaduh is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

its probably a bad AGP slot or PCIE slot, or it could be your moniter try your moniter on a diff computer to elminate that possibility.

clear CMOS, blow out video card slot and try again make sure if video card has a molex connector that it is hooked up correctly.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

The monitor is a brand new NEC LCD92V flatscreen monitor. 19' I believe. I'm pretty good with computers, so i grabbed another video card that works on my other computer, and didn't work also! So i never thought about the agp/pci (i forget whihc it is) slot, i guess that could be part of the problem, but it's sort of weird how it just started happeniong with this monitor. And i don't know how to get different drivers for it. I never even installed the monitor, and don't know where the software is, which makes it more difficult. Anyways i will try cleaning the slot. BUT why would that cause the computer to restart? Wouldn't that just make the monitor not be available to use? It wouldn't shut the computer right down. Anyways i will keep tinkering! Any other suggestions would be awesome.
canaduh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.