Video Formats not running....... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2005, 02:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I don't see how it could be from "Dust on the CPU" but then again I haven't seen everything.

Can you uninstall your Sound Card and only use your Onboard untill we can determine if its your newly installed soundcard and drivers...
You could be having IRQ issues.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

no on board sound but later could take the card out and put old one back in

however a windows app ie media player should still be able to run shouldnt it??
__________________

The Apostle is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you are playing from a DVD and not just the ripped version of that DVD you can be having IRQ issues between your DVD player and your SoundCard... I don't see why this would happen however you said this was the last thing newly installed right ?

The best troubleshooting step is to cronologically backout of new installs.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

how can i check about the irq conflicts if any
The Apostle is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Place the sound card in a different PCI slot.



little more info :

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q314068
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

will do just off to eat and chill for a bit

talk to you soon

thnx
The Apostle is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 04:31 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Problem is now temp. resolved and all down to Nvidia Geforce 6600GT graphics cards - by disabling 3d direct draw accdeleration all works fine - however games that require 3d dont so have to enable them prior to playing.

Temp measure until nvidia get their acts together.

Thnx

Smudger
The Apostle is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 06:11 AM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I was reading the post and figured that you had a nvidia card. install driver version 77.77 as that is ms certified.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.