Video file on a Data cd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 04:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default Video file on a Data cd

Before I tried this I wanted to ask you guys first. When I put this video file onto a vcd, it goes way over 700mb. But if I did a data cd it would be like 699mb. Would a video file on a data cd work on a dvd player? Or do you have any useful ideas? Thanks
Hope you know what I mean, Im using nero by the way.
__________________

zildjianchris is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 08:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Video file on a Data cd

Quote:
Originally posted by zildjianchris
Before I tried this I wanted to ask you guys first. When I put this video file onto a vcd, it goes way over 700mb. But if I did a data cd it would be like 699mb. Would a video file on a data cd work on a dvd player? Or do you have any useful ideas? Thanks
Hope you know what I mean, Im using nero by the way.
All (well most I guess) DVD players recognize the VCD format. So yes it will work fine.

I have a MiniDV camera. I have to convert the video to VCD and burn it onto a CD, and it plays on my DVD player just fine. And my DVD player isn't anything special
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Um, no, video needs to be encoded to a VCD, SVCD, KVCD, or DVD before most players will play them, unless you have a player that will play Divx, then if your file is Divx, it will play right off the data cd. I say invest in a DVD burner for 40 bucks or less, and buy some cheap no brand DVD+Rs and do it the right way It's worth the investment.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

You can get free software that will convert the video file into VCD format, which your DVD player will read.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Yes, and he has that software, but his problem is that when he uses his software to convert it to VCD, it's too big to fit on the CD.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
Yes, and he has that software, but his problem is that when he uses his software to convert it to VCD, it's too big to fit on the CD.
oh, I misunderstood the problem, my apologies.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Well, that's how I interpret his problem. He said that when he tried to add the file to a VCD, that it's too big. But, it'll fit if it's still a data CD.

Maybe the poster could tell us what program he is using and if that program has a different compression setting that would make the file fit on a VCD.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Change the compression settings. You'll loose quality but it will at least fit on a cd. One thing I do is compress the audio more than the video... nothing worse than a vid you can't even watch.

-Matt
mattFleming is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 07:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

Im using nero 5, along with nero express. "ohGrFreak" has understood my problem perfectly.
__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I use nero, but when I make a video, I use a DVD, I know when I make a DVD, there are tabs at the bottom of the Nero window and one tab is video settings, I can manually reduce the size of the movie, making it fit onto my selected media.

Try under video settings, use extended play option or use the manual option to reduce the size.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.