video card drivers won't work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 11:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default video card drivers won't work

I just reformatted my computer and when I go to install the drivers for my card it says that it can't find any drivers for current hardware then exits.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 02:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Do you have onboard video? If so, take out the card, boot up, turn off, put the card back in, and boot back up, try to install the drivers. Stupid question, but do you have the latest drivers for it? If so, try an older version.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 07:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

its and actuial card, and I don't have onboard video

I think these driivers should work because they worked fine before the format.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

Go to the manufactures website and download them. How do you take an ojboard VC out?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

you can't take onboard video out

the drivers i have now are from july they should work

there was a few other things i noticed when installing windows it kept asking me where certain files are i don't know if that's normal. Also my mp3 player fails to detect now.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

oki have it sort of fixed but now in display properties it says nvidia geforce fx5500 (microsoft corperation) what's up with that?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The card is an NVidia Geforce FX5500, and the drivers are from Microsoft, instead of NVidia
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

are microsoft's drivers any good though?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Yes, they made the operating system; they should know how to make drivers for their OS.

I think they make all NVidia drivers; my friend has an MX520 and it uses MS drivers.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

or are nvidia s drivers better?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.