Video Card/Display Problems - Pls Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2003, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Unhappy Video Card/Display Problems - Pls Help

Hi all,

I hope you guys can help me - you all seem to know what you're talking about.

Here is my problem. Intermittently (sometimes once a month other times – like this week – every day!!) upon startup, my PC seems to ignore the fact that I have a video card and reverts to the standard VGA drivers complete with 16 bit colour and 640x480 resolution. I then have to go through the process of reinstalling the video card drivers again.

He are my systems spec’s:

PIII 667
256MB
GF4MX-440se video card
2 x HDD (1x15GB and 1x80GB)
Windows 98se
SoundBlaster Live! Sound Card

I’ve tried reinstalling drivers etc and just when I think I’ve beaten it – bang! the display goes haywire again. I’ve even put my trusty ol’ TNT2 32MB card back in to make sure the GF4 wasn’t stuffed – but no joy same problems.

Any ideas guys? I’ve used detonator destroyer as well but still no luck??

Thanks for any advice.

Highroller
__________________

Highroller is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

whats your display driver?
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I've got the Nvidia 44.03 but have also tried the previosu version 43.45.

Any ideas?
Highroller is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 06:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks Microbell. I'll try the 43.00 drivers.

And yes the probelms occurs with both cards. I am currently running with some old 29.42 drivers I had from ages ago - and so far they are OK (with the TNT2 installed haven't tried the GF4). Since my last post I have tried to update to the new drivers with not much luck - it's almost as if the drivers will not 'take' when installed. I have tried both the manual installation as per the Read Me file that comes with the drivers (ie via display setting etc) and also the setup.exe option.

It's really got me mystified?????
Highroller is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 07:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Hi

NVidia drivers can, as you state, be pigs to uninstall completely and you can end up with a 'mutant' driver.

There are tools that are speciffically designed to overcome this 'sticky' driver problem.

Try here:

http://download.guru3d.com/detonator/

Also try and get 'WHQL' certified drivers if possible.

HTH
roho is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 07:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what OS are you using?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-22-2003, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I'm using windows 98se
Highroller is offline  
Old 08-23-2003, 08:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

bloody Windows 98 again!

maybe you could try unofficial drivers, sometimes they work
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to jalarosa8
Default could i get help from you guys?

i'm kinda having the same problem as the original poster. my windows 98 (first edition. yes i know its old my mom says its a really really good computer so we don't have to update it. she wont listen to me.) i recently wiped my hard drive to start over and i installed 98 again and now i am stuck on the VGA display adapter thing. and every time i change it it stays to restart and i do that then it says that the one i chose wont work and that it will go back to the startdard VGA one. is there any way to get past this? hmm i wonder now if there is even a video card on this piece of s..t computer.
jalarosa8 is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 03:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

First, make sure you have the updated drivers for your video card.

You should go into the bios and find the option to disable the onboard video... than turn off the computer and unplug the power cord from it.

Then, install your video card and plug your monitor in to it. Turn you computer back on, and install the videocard driver(s).
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.