VIA IDE RAID + Windows Server 2003 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2004, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default VIA IDE RAID + Windows Server 2003

6 months ago, my boss baught himself ASUSTek P4P800/DELUXE Motherboard. This motherboard is his home server that is running Windows Server 2003.

This motherboard comes with an onboard IDE RAID with the VIA ChipSet.

Problem... the VIA IDE RAID CHIPSET drivers does not support Windows Server 2003. The raid works fine under Server 2000, however his personal requirements need Server 2003 on this box.


Last time I contacted AsusTek (November 03), there was on ETA on when the these drivers will be avalable.
As for VIA themselves, they did have an beta release of the VIA RAID Drivers for Server 2003, but again, they did not work.


Does any one here have any ideas on how to get a VIA IDE RAID working on Server 2003?

Does any one here know of any new receint developments that a has happened in the last few months?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Perhaps a nice letter to your contact is in order. After all, it is their job to research and develop harware and software that keeps up with Microsoft and it's customers. I haven't read anything or heard anything. But I think that within the letter, mention of the non-functioning Beta release should come into play.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I just checked out the ASUS website, and it seems that they have a driver.

However, it would be nice that people lilke Microsoft would give the infromation out to the manufacturers vendors so that they can make sure their hardware will be compatable with thier operating system. Let alone making sure that their software is complete when they finally release it. Eg. Server 2003 Shadow Copying Fuction would be really good when they finally getting around to completing it.

Man, I am hanging out for Server 2k3 SP1.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.