Very strange windows and Dell problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Very strange windows and Dell problem

Alright, here goes the description of the problem. I dont have first hand interaction with it (at college instead of home).

My mom has a dell, I dont know what model or how old, but it is running xphome. My bother, some of you may know him(spiidersniiper on tf), decided that the pc was running slow, so he ran macafe. he said macaffee found four folders or files that were not good, and it removed them, he did not reboot the pc like macafee told him to. He didnt say if performace increased after that. But later that night when my mom went on the pc it was crawling, with the cpu maxed out all the time. She rebooted it to see if it would get better, but no success.

So the problem is that the cpu is maxed out and something isnt allowing any cpu cycles to be used for any other program. When you three finger salut, task manager flashes on, then off. You cant get msconfig to stay open either. Windows Explorer we have moderate succes with, but you cant move files around because the cpu is maxed out. Even in safe mode the pc runs just as slugish. So it sounds like there is something wrong with a file in windows, since the pc run slow in safe mode.

I suggested putting the xp instal disk in before boot up and runing windows reapair. Because windows restore wont always open, or wont work at all, even in safe mode. Also booting to the last known god config wont solve the problem.

So unless some one has a suggestion, and windows repair doesnt work it looks like i'll have to take the hard drive out, back up the files and reinstall.

Any help, ideas or suggestions? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

first.. u can always use another virus scanner.. i never agreed with mcaffee.. but ne how.. ur tak manager wont say open??? thats not good..
i doubt ud miss something like this.. but make sure ur cpu temp isn't high... if not try using hijack this if u can.. sorry that isn't much help but thats all i can really think to cause it.. (if mcaffee already looked for viruses) u said it is not ur computer so.. try hijack this and spyware search and destroy.. i dont know if u have enough cpu to run that much.. but hijack this doesn't take much cpu or time so maybe...
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Well I'll see what happens with hijack this, but since the computer was slow in both normal windows and safe mode, I am assuming its not spyware or a virus, but something in windows.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

SFC /scannow.
try that and see if it helps...
Check the start up folder and the entires in the registry manually.
\software\microsoft\windows\currentverions\run | runonce
in either local machine and current user.
good luck
**EDIT**

better yet, boot into safe mode, and run this program..
http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/
it has the most recent viruses out there and is very good at removing them. Then, while still in safe mode, run spybot (install if you don't have it already) and clean up the junk that is there.
I'm sure your little brother can figure it out since you are not there. That should get you to the point where you can work in the system. There are more things to do after this, but that should be a good start.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

yeah that's spyware \ virus for sure, if mcafee picked up ANYTHING their is alot more it didnt pickup
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
yeah that's spyware \ virus for sure, if mcafee picked up ANYTHING their is alot more it didnt pickup
ty!!! haha.. but im sorry i coulnd't give u a better solution
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Yeah that post from dj chris just solved the problem totaly. I cant thank you enough. Seriously he has a history of worthless posts.

Inaris, do I run that command under start > run ? I have used stinger. The problem is that even in safe mode most programs cant get any use of the cpu clock cycles. I'll give it a try, but I dont know if it will work.

The command you suggested, wouldnt the repair option with the cd fix many of the same problems?

Thanks to those who have worth while suggestions.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It is not pointless since reinstalling windows XP is generally easier than trying to fix deep rooted spyware and virus's...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Re-installation of Windows is not always a viable option. Although repairing Windows doesn't normally mees up a hard drive (well, it didn't my bud's when I fixed his), reinstalling wipes everything.

If the problem can be fixed without resorting to the extreme, the solution is worth seeking. Besides, reinstalling presents no challenge whatsoever, while hunting down the problem and figuring out the necessary steps to take can present ample opportunities for those who are brave enough to step up to the task.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Reformating and reinstalling is a last resort. I keep this computer very clean, run a hardware and software firewall, av scans every sunday night and updates, run spyware software that doesnt find many things. So I highly doubt it has anything to do with a virus, spyware.

I said that before dj chris. If you read my post, you would see it more likely a windows problem, since its slow in safe and normal mode.

Reinstalling is a pain, and you often loose a day doing all that. On my computer I use norton ghost to save the time, and keep my drive clean.

DJ CHRIS, keep trying, some day your reply might be on topic. No one mentioned reformating, I dont know where you found that one. Try to contribute something to the thread.

I suggested to my mom to try the scf /scannow, I'll see what happens with that. Inaris, any other ideas? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.