VERY slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2005, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Unhappy VERY slow

My OS is 98 2nd edition. I have alays run regular maintenance and never had any real problems. As of late the machine runs SLOW...real slow. I switched to cable a few months ago. My niece runs AIM and leaves in on 24-7 and that's when the problems seem to have started. I have run all of the spy-ware etc. suggested on this site a d removed everything it found. I regularly dump the temp files, defrag, etc. I do the ctrl-alt-delete thing to sgut down all programs running in the background when I defrag. I always take it down to explor and systry. There is now a Winmgmt there that WILL NOT turn off. Could this be causing a problem or is the AIM causing a problem or??? Please help. Thanks.
__________________

Bohemian is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Check for spyware/trojans/viri
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yep thats what it is no doubt.Theres lots of free programs for that on the net.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Having a computer on 24/7 would make it a good target for virii, trograms, worms, spyware, hackers etc.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

So, does that mean just having the AIM logged on? Or does that mean we should shut the computer down? With the cable connection are we 'online' if we are not logged on to the server?
Bohemian is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i would shut it down
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 54
Default

It is a very good idea to shut a computer down when you are not using it. Running aim 24/7 is not a very good idea either, since AIM seems to magically put stuff on your comp; it's just a good idea because you have cable to, and as beforesaid, the comp is vulnarable to viruses, etc.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
nVidia 5700 LE 256 MB
512 MB Corsair XMS Series
bigdawgjts2663 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to start, run, type msconfig and press ok

go to startup, and uncheck everything except explorer

also, if you shut down your computer, it is not online even with cable internet, however your modem is always online
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Hi, I did that and it turned off things like the anti-virus etc. I put everything back...how do know what not to turn off...there are a whole lot of things listed there? It did however, run much beter when evrything was turned off so I assume most things in there can go but I don't know which is whick because there are not so blatant as...Noton Anti Virus. Oh, there was no Explore in there! Thanks so much for your help with this.
Bohemian is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

By the way, when everything was unchecked, I just clicked on the Norton icon assuming it would just open it up even though it wasn't in the notification area and it said it performed an illegal operation etc.
__________________

Bohemian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.