very old computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 05:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by benzimm86
well you see, the person that ownes the computer, just like the computer, is old. Old people done like to get use to something new. They are use to IE. As far as reinstalling windows, it just might come down to that if nothing else works.
That's why...you can't flog ff on everyone. I love it I use it exclusivley, my wife refused so I let her use IE. Not everyone wants to change, if the owner can't fix it themselves I am sure the won't want to try a new browser. Only people that are tech savy are usually willing to try it and use it, with a few exceptions here and there.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PC Man Brian
I say you just do it. Cut the middle man out, and make it easier. Just re-install Windows dude.
ultimatley that is the best way to go if you can't get it to work as is. How long has he had it running with out a re-install? I used to re-instal win98 every 6 months min as it just gets sooo bloated and runs like crap.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

It's not the fact that they don't want to change. Usually they think it's so hard to switch over to a new browser man. Hey, that's people these days. Some think technology is really hard to adapt to (IE: A new browser)
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Look Fire Fox works just like IE does on a visual level. So old stubborn people will only take 5 minutes to adapt I'm guessing. It's not hard you still click on pretty pictures and links right.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Exactly but apparently from the other IE lovers it's different.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 06:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

As with the other peoples, i would format and re-install.

But this could help:
Scan for Virus
Scan for Spyware.
Remove useless Startup Items
Remove Useless programs.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 08:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Thank you.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:24 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

problem solved installed IE 6 and all is good now. thanks for the help. Still did not figure out if firefox works on 98
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:26 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Well as long as the problem is fixed right?
__________________

__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.