Which version of server 2003 do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 04:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Question Which version of server 2003 do I need?

Ok, I have access to the 4 versions of Windows 2003. Xmall business, Web server, Enterprise Edition and I thikn one more.

it's going on a MSI MOBO K8N Plat Neo 5 wirh 2Gb ram, dual 36gb raptors and dual 200gb WD caviar 7200's.

I nrrd to get a wev server up quickly and was wondering if there are any guides to doing this. Ot is going to be a small site and will be adding more in the future. I've seitched all 5 of my machines to Linux except this one. I'm going to try apache aout as well. Not knowing much about either, what would you suggest I leard on? windows or linux? I have a good bit of knowlegde in windows in 2000, 2000 server and adv server. and LOTS with XP.

Linux FC4, I'm learning as I go. I've found it realatively easy once you knoww where to look for answers.

The website is going to be for a landscaping business so it will have pictures, text's and some forms.

Pretty much just looking to see is apache is much harder to set up tha a MS system. Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
www.audituner.com
mikepg is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

well if web server is available, and you're making a webserver i'd go with that, but i dont know anything about apache so i cant give u an opinion there.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Get Data Center if it's availible like you said if not get enterprise. You get more power and options that way.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Ok Thank you. I'll go with datacenter. Thanks again
__________________
www.audituner.com
mikepg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.