Veritas 9.0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Veritas 9.0

I'm using Veritas 9.0, not 9.1.
Backing up between 60 and 75 gb of users my documents and archive emails
using 100gb tapes
Windows 2000 Server SP4

When the backup is finished, at 99%, I spits the tape out and gives this error message:

Please insert overwritable media into the drive.

Overwritable media includes scratch, blank, and recyclable media. Please note that depending on the current Media Overwrite Protection setting, imported and allocated media may be overwritable as well. Consult the online help for more information on overwritable media.

Respond Yes to acknowledge.
Respond No to retry the operation.
Respond Cancel to cancel the operation.


Settings are:

Media Management: Media overwrite protection = None
Media Type is = 8mm
Media overwrite protection = Overwrite media
Compression type = Hardware


Anyone have this error before?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Do you have another tape you can try?

When did this start?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

make sure the tape is able to be overwritten, and what about compression, is that 100 gb compressed or 200 compressed.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I've tried 20 tapes

10 100gb tapes
10 50gb tapes

Starting having issues when I upgraded from 8 to 9. I uninstalled 9, went back to 8, had same problem. Now I'm back to 9 with the same issue. I tried all kinds of different options and still receive the same issue.
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you tried the 9.1? Are they full installs or updates (that you tried).
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

sorry if i'm asking dumb questions as I dont have tape drives in my servers(nor do i work for any organizations that require them) is the drive supported by the program? the tapes? do they need to be reformated? different file system?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Full installs

Tapes are the same manufacturer as the smaller tape.
The tape drive supports the larger size tape
At one time they would backup fine, but when I went to another tape, this would happen again.
now everytime I insert any tape, I have this issue
Veritas wants a ****load for support and my support ended 2 years ago
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

have any other tape drives to try?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I would probably uninstall/re-install completely from scratch. Seems like there is an applicational issue that is confused on the v.8 - v.9 install...
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

thats all i got
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.