Vaio Laptop Wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 07:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default Vaio Laptop Wont boot

I have a sony vaio laptop

its a p3 1.13ghz
256 ram
30gig hdd (hitachi)
intel 32mg graphics
dvd/cd-rw combo

it wont boot, straight up. it goes to windows loadings creen and the loading bar moves for a while then it just goes black and does nothing. i then hold the power button it restarts and comes up with the windows did not boot properly.

safe mode = stops as mup.sys
others (including last known good config) black screen.

i have done a memtest86. no probs

any other ideas?

i cant boot from cd, in the bios it is possible to set cd as a boot option but it wont boot anyway, besides, the laptop didnt come with a windows cd just sony recovery cds, and i want to avoid formating= lose some files.


any help would be much appriciated
__________________

inatey is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

no safe mode,,,hummm. Format and reinstall windows. If you want to be sure then boot a live linux cd first.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default

i thought i said it, but i cant boot form cd, live linux is out, and i want to avoid formating, there are some files i dont wanna lose, any other ideas?
inatey is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 08:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

why can't you boot from a cd?? change the boot order in the bios. don't know the bios key? the vaio splash screen should tell you which key if not try the delete key, tab key, and esc key if not,, mash the keyboard when its booting. you could try a none distructive reinstall. But you must be able to boot from a cd.

crap I missed that! If its set to boot from the cd is the splash screen covering the press any key to boot from cd.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

perhaps this will help

Hi my XP Pro system got the mup.sys error just out of the blue today. Here's what I did:
1. Ran XP setup and logged onto my C:\windows
2. EXPANDed the d:\i386\mup.sy_ file to C:\windows\system32\drivers folder

after a failed reboot or two I then followed the advice of whoever wrote about pulling out their mouse lead during safe mode boot.
I was running a Logitech cordless mouse off that system at the time and I did the following to get XP to boot successfully:

1. made sure ACPI, Plug & Play, USB all enabled in BIOS

2. moved mouse from the ps/2 port to the first USB port
3. booted using safe mode
4. waited until it hung at Mup.sys
5. removed the mouse cable from the USB port
6. (3 seconds or so pass, the screen went black and safe mode appeared)
7. restarted system
8. booted normally into XP Pro
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default

sorry, i dont understand that part.


1. Ran XP setup and logged onto my C:\windows
2. EXPANDed the d:\i386\mup.sy_ file to C:\windows\system32\drivers folder
inatey is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 05:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

hit f10 and do a viao system restore (recovery)

don't refomat. in the morning I will walk you through reinstalling windows on that laptop.

you should have a i386 folder on your C drive that you can reinstall xp with

download you a bart pe cd or an erd commander 2005 cd.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default

sorry i thoughti replyed but i hadnt. i assume you mean f10 during startup but that did nothing... so i couldnt to any :restore
inatey is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 01:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I forgot about this. make a bart pe cd. boot from it. look to see if you have an 1386 folder. double click the winnt.exe file to reinstall xp. you should copy that 1386 folder to a usb hdd and install xp from there
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 02:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

It almost sounds like his hard drive is on the way out.
__________________

imation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.