Using XP Twice - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2007, 10:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Using XP Twice

But the thing is this. You said you are selling "X" right. So how can you justify telling whoever buys it from you not to go to Windows Update and get updates? Because the minute they do the system will be logged as pirated.

So in reality you would be selling pirated software to someone. How do you explain that? Jsut buy a XP OEM CD from NewEgg and get on with it. There is no way you can accomplish what you want with selling one of the PC's off. At some point in time the person who buys the PC will want to get updates for it. Which they wont. Then they wont be happy with you at all and possibly ask for a refund.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 11:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: Using XP Twice

Oh no, i wouldnt sell it like that. Next month im buying Vista and installing that to my new computer. Old computer X will have its fully legal XP in working order and then ill sell it.

Just till then i have no OS for my new PC so I needed temporary dual XP method to work.

I appreciate the concern. Thanks.
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 11:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Using XP Twice

Well just wait till next month. Why take the chance of making the XP illegal? Why have these people who you will sell it to think that something shady is going on because they will have to call M$ everytime they want to re-install? If you are in such a rush just do what every person does. Pirate Vista till you buy it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 01:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Using XP Twice

Yeah...the whole don't update thing is OK if you own both PC's, but selling one is selling pirated software. I wouldn't take the chance, just use Linux on the PC until you get Vista (if you only need it for web browsing and e-mail and such).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 01:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: Using XP Twice

Thing is that my new PC is for gaming. I wanted XP for a bit because of the better performance it is has over Vista.

So I will own both PCs, X and Z, and both will have the same XP. I wont use X, but Z will eventually go to Vista. When it does I will sell X with its XP (will i have to phone up a second time to get XP working fully back on X again?) it will be fine, wont it?

I suppose I could put Linux on to X and sell it like that. I probably wont get as much though. I was going to put it on ebay with starting bid of £100. My USP being that its capable of 2006 gaming (with a Geforce 6800 and 1GB RAM, P4 2.66Ghz), wont work if its Linux and not XP.
westy159 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Using XP Twice

You can sell it with no OS...if you don't include a real COA with the PC when you sell it, the OS means nothing, even if it does have XP installed. If you include the certificate (the actual sticker or piece of paper that has the code), then it's good and legal, otherwise, it could be considered pirated software anyways, as reinstalling would be out of the question.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default Re: Using XP Twice

You can't use windows XP coa product keys on two pc's at the same time, you can transfer the key by installing windows xp on the new system once it's finished in use on the other, it will sometimes simply reactivate online or will need phone activation where you have 7 white boxes on screen to enter a confirmation code from Microsoft, it's just case of saying "NO" when the MS agent asks how many pc's the key is installed on, 8 out of 10 times it goes all well, always has for me. Although you may be able to get away with using it on 2 pc's as what some of the other users posts have stated just turn off automatic updates, reduce ways of MS flagging the key in use twice.
callmewilson is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Using XP Twice

I haven't read the other posts, but here is the deal. that dell key on your computer is more than likely not activated.

gateway, hp and dell disc have a feature that check that machine to see if it came from them. if it does, it will give it a random serial, not the serial on the side and you don't need to activate that machine.

usually when you use the key on a store bought computer on another computer, the activation will almost always go through.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 02:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Using XP Twice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Yes but as i explained above when 1 of those machines goes for updaes and tries to pass validation only 1 active hardware profile is on file and will be updated. The rest will fail this hardware profile validation and become inactive. Which will force you to activate them again and turn the rest inactive.

M$ keeps a record of the hardware profile. The mobo and CPU are the 2 things they keep track of. That is why you have to call for validation after a period of time. But at the same time by you activating 1 machine you deactive the rest. Which defeats the purpose. Why they didnt question how you could have 4 different mobo and cpu combos we will never know. Guess the people in India were not trained to ask these types of questions.

Before anyone gets all upset over that India comment, i have good reason for it. I called to activate my serial recently and guess what. The call went to India. So it is fact about where it goes. Not a shot at any person.
yeah i got redirected to india

but none of the computers i've installed my XP disc have been shut down yet. they all install updates just fine.
mgcook is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 06:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: Using XP Twice

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
I haven't read the other posts, but here is the deal. that dell key on your computer is more than likely not activated.

gateway, hp and dell disc have a feature that check that machine to see if it came from them. if it does, it will give it a random serial, not the serial on the side and you don't need to activate that machine.

usually when you use the key on a store bought computer on another computer, the activation will almost always go through.
If thats the case then brilliant
Thanks all. I can now only wait for my paycheck, order my build and hope that this will work.
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.