using symantec's ghost - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2004, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default using symantec's ghost

Hi all,

How would I use Ghost to clone my notebook's hard drive ?
__________________

f20c is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default Re: using symantec's ghost

Quote:
Originally posted by f20c
Hi all,

How would I use Ghost to clone my notebook's hard drive ?
You should read carefully the instructions included in there, how to use Ghost etc...
__________________

kopenhagen is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

ghost can copy your images directly to a CD or DVD if you have a burner. you can also save image to another partition other than the partition you are creating the image from. create an image by selecting partition to partition to clone. you can than restore this image to another hard disk or back onto the same drive. you cannot restore an image to the volue the image is saved to. ghost has tcp/ip support to restore image over network
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 07:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default Re: using symantec's ghost

Quote:
Originally posted by f20c
Hi all,

How would I use Ghost to clone my notebook's hard drive ?
Very simple, but you should definatly RTM.

1) Make image of drive.

2) Store image in safe location, ie. CD, DVD, Network Storage.

3) Make Ghost boot disk.

4) Format drive you want to put image on.

5) Use Ghost boot disk.

6) Install image.

PS. Using Ghost over a network is just cool, I did it at school.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 08:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

sorry.. should have been more specific.

The notebook has no floppy. only CD-RW/DVD-R

so is it possible to create a Ghost Bootable CD-R then have it run Ghost to create the image to put onto a CD-RW
f20c is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Default

When you do not have a floppy make a bootdisk, then use Roxio/Nero to burn a bootable Cd-Rom, and that should take care of you. I use Nero 6 the basic version that came with my DVD burner, and I had to access advanced features and then it is under data cd options I believe.
__________________

rasputinj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.