using the same operating system... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2006, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 39
Default using the same operating system...

i have a pc now with 1 hard drive(eide). I am about to put together a custom computer with a new SATA 320 gig drive.

i am not sure if i can find a operating system now and dont really have the funds to buy a new one....

can i jus use my old hard drive in the computer i use now and set it to the first boot device ...and use that as the normal operating system and use the 320 gig drive as storage( jus as a normal hard drive) ?


__________________
__________________

thebattosai is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

97% no, 3% yes
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: using the same operating system...

Quote:
Originally posted by thebattosai
i have a pc now with 1 hard drive(eide). I am about to put together a custom computer with a new SATA 320 gig drive.

i am not sure if i can find a operating system now and dont really have the funds to buy a new one....

can i jus use my old hard drive in the computer i use now and set it to the first boot device ...and use that as the normal operating system and use the 320 gig drive as storage( jus as a normal hard drive) ?


__________________
You have to reinstall if you want to move to another motherboard.

No budget? No problem.

http://www.ubuntu.com/
http://en.opensuse.org/Welcome_to_openSUSE.org
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: Re: using the same operating system...

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
You have to reinstall if you want to move to another motherboard.
No you don't. Just repair the OS if you don't want to go through reinstalling everything. Not as "clean", but works just fine.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 09:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Go with LINUX!

It'll be like vaccinating yourself from Vista =)
WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.