User Profile - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2006, 01:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Does this copy of Xp have a CD key or is it keyless? Have you tried this cd on other machines? Can you install the OS from another Disk and use the Key that is on this CD?


[Thoughts]
Is this the first time you have used this License?
Is this a New OS CD?
Is this a Corp license?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is this the first time you have used this License? Nope
Is this a New OS CD? No, same one Ive always used and Ive used others
Is this a Corp license? Yes, volume license

I enter in the cd key every time til the image is completed then I use systprep fully automated with the key provided.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Well it now sounds like its a hardware issue with the IBM machine...

Will it boot up normally without the NIC enabled? Can you log in "Locally" w/o issue?

Im not really sure why I'm leading towards the NIC right off the bat.

Any errors in the Device Manager?

Im sure you have checked for any Error Icons in the Device Manger, I didn't mean to offend or belittle. (sorry)
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Well it now sounds like its a hardware issue with the IBM machine...

Will it boot up normally without the NIC enabled? Can you log in "Locally" w/o issue?

Im not really sure why I'm leading towards the NIC right off the bat.

Any errors in the Device Manager?

Im sure you have checked for any Error Icons in the Device Manger, I didn't mean to offend or belittle. (sorry) <- no need to, I do forget, Im not no ***** so it wont offend me at all but I did check it and it was fine. I havent disabled the the nic yet but I did take it off the network thinking some policy might be pushing out and screwing it up but it did the same, also dis-joined it from the domain and same thing. One thing, when I logged in as the default admin, it was fine for a while but when i added another local admin account, Captain, it screwed up both....weird...


__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Hey .

My user profile issue is a bit different. When I tryto log onto the domain, it brings up a box that says "User Enviroment" in the top title bar. Then the error says "Windows could not log you on because your profile could not be loaded. Check that you are connected to the network and that your network is functioning properly."

Now, I can log on as the network admin just fine. Any ideas?
sarasotamac is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is that a local account?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 01:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sarasotamac
Hey .

My user profile issue is a bit different. When I tryto log onto the domain, it brings up a box that says "User Enviroment" in the top title bar. Then the error says "Windows could not log you on because your profile could not be loaded. Check that you are connected to the network and that your network is functioning properly."

Now, I can log on as the network admin just fine. Any ideas?

It sounds like you have a local profile corruption...

Check out the Application Even Logs.
Check in the "Source" Column for UserEnv errors.
once you find them read the verbage it provides... Post what the error says in FULL...
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 02:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

now all the icons have lost their file associations,,,,
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 02:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

im about to post some errors from event viewer. I had to use ERD commander to get them because i cant open anything up.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 02:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I beleive it is the network card...ERD couldnt load the network driver. When I checked the even viewer I found hundreds of WMI errors which manage resources like hard drives, file systems, settings of operating system, processes, services, shares, registry settings, networking components, event logs, users, groups, etc.

So this may be the culprit.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.