User Acount problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2004, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Default User Acount problem

When I try to enter to User Acount, here what I get
some script error massage
__________________

Sashoon is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 617
Default

can you get a better screen shot very blurry or write the error down and type it out ?

Lobos
__________________

__________________
AdAware | Spybot S&D 1.4 | spyware guard & spyware blaster |

How did I get infected in the first place By Tony Klein

If you use IE I suggest using thes two programs IE Hosts & IE-SPYAD


Lobos is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Getting a script error message while you're trying to access Users through the control panel is quite odd. Never heard of that one before....

Do you have your virus definitions upto date and have you done a full system scan of your PC?

Also can you verify if you're running Windows XP.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Default

Here is the better screen shot of that error.
I have Norton AntiVirus but it's dosn't work too, It's just blank window.

And yes I have Win XP Home Edition
Sashoon is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Sounds strangely suspicious of a virus infection considering that your Norton AV doesn't work and you're getting this error message.

Why don't you try running AdAware and Spybot Search & Destroy... it might help.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Default

I ran Spybot Search & Destroy and AdAware but it's still same.
Sashoon is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

I would advise you to update your Norton AV definitions. However you can manage it, get Norton working again and run a full system scan - the more i think about it, the more it sounds like a virus infection. If you visit Symantec's website, you can find a support page where you can try to fix your Norton problems.

When did script error start to happen? Did it happen the same time that your Norton AV stopped working by chance? And just exactly what is going on with Norton? Does it not respond when you try to update your definitions?
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Default

The script error happen before Norton AntiVirus stoped working

And my Norton AntiVirus looks like that I can't scan with it, it's just blank screen. The same thing with my System Restore.
Sashoon is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 08:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Sashoon, first we need to confirm if this is a software problem or a virus infection. I think it's the latter but we'll see...

You can go here and get a free virus scan on-line. See if anything turns up.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 10:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Default

Ok, I scan it but nothing changed.

And I have Norton System Work and when I try to install it it's install other stuff but not AntiVirus because I have it on my PC so I try to deled it I it's says can not delete it.
__________________

Sashoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.