USB Port - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 08:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default USB Port

I wasn't sure where to post this question, so this seemed like a good place.

My computer is an older computer and doesn't have a USB port in the back of it..Is there anyway to get a USB port somehow without buying a new computer?

Thanks.
__________________

Meyers is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

USB Hub

http://www.keyspan.com/products/USB/hub/
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Buy a USB adaptor card. They fit in a PCI slot. All you need is the drivers, wich will be included with the card. What OS are you using? Mostly drivers for old versions of Windows aren't included and are very hard to find.

You should buy something like this: http://www.directron.com/sbtali5y.html
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Major, Im running Win98..Which by the looks of the ad you posted shouldn't be a problem. So just one of the things I would want to do with this is transfer data between the computer and iPod..this would solve the problem correct?

Thanks for the help guys.
Meyers is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0219809
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well, before buying a card see if it says "supports Win98". If it doesn't, look at the manufacturers website for Win98 drivers for that specific card. If it doesn't, Google for the drivers.
Windows 98 Second Edition supports USB, although I am not sure it will work with any card, it should. Do you know if you are running Win98SE?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Yep, it's 98SE.. So we shouldn't have a problem?
Meyers is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No. Get a card that says Win98 supported and it will work fine.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Theres an issue with windows 98 and ipods. They arent really compatible, i tried...theres a way around it but that was last xmas....Now i have xp and dont have to worry about it...google it. Or check your ipod manual too.

Edit: i had 98ME.....maybe its differnet with SE....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 12:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

oh i just thought of this today...

a USB PCI card, they cost nothing, i put one in my computer and have 8 USB ports total!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.