usb cd drive wont load because there is a duplicate device already running - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Angry usb cd drive wont load because there is a duplicate device already running

Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware because there is a duplicate device already running in the system. (Code 42)

there u are........thats wat windows xp pro says word for word...i have 4 cd drives, 2 that are hooked up via ide, and 2 i jus hooked up 5 mins ago via ide-usb adapters....well since the EXACT same thing is running, it wont load the device (4th cd drive)....im willing to bet this is a toughie for u windows skeeG....hope u can help u allways have b4-thanx
__________________

__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

oh and dont ask why i have 4 cd drives, i just hate switching game cds. ....lazy huh?
__________________

__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Code 42
Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware because there is a duplicate device already running in the system. (Code 42)



Recommended resolution


A duplicate device was detected. This error occurs when a bus driver incorrectly creates two identically named children (bus driver error), or when a device with a serial number is discovered in a new location before it is removed from the old location.

Restart the computer.

On the General Properties tab of the device, click Troubleshoot to start the Troubleshooting Wizard.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to sbcirclepants
Default

no cigar....i got the same message :/
__________________
cpu: C2D E7200 2.53ghz
ram: OCZ Gold DDR2 4gb
gpu: EVGA 9600GSO 384MB
psu: OCZ 500W
sbcirclepants is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Go into the device manager and find your IDE2 bus and delete it (don't worry, at restart it will reload). Restart. Windows will find all the plug and play CD's and rename them anew!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.