urgent, win2000 problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2003, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 23
Default urgent, win2000 problems

hey!

i have got an rather imortant question, i have built a P4 2.6 computer, 1024 ram, geforce4mx. i recently put it together and i am experiencing some problems, the compter locks or freezes or what ever you call it like every ten minutes. i cant do anything, the mouse is fixed in one position and the top of the screen kinda dissaperes. ctrl alt del doesnt work either. i am currently running win 2000. does any one know what to do?
__________________

s1cs is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

look @ your CPU fan, is it actually spinning / plugged in? does it post as 1024 when u start your computer up?
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 02:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 23
Default

yes the cpu fan is running. when i open the system icon in the controllpanel it says 1048, isnt that wierd?
s1cs is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

try reinstalling Win2K, try formatting as NTFS. What kind of CPU fan are u running.
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 23
Default

it is formatted as NTFS, ill try to reinstall it or perhaps install xp.
s1cs is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 03:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26
Default

This might sound stupid, but make sure all the cards are completely popped in all the way I have had trouble with that sometimes when I rebuild computers... this can cause all sorts of problems
cowticket is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 08:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 23
Default

i got it sorted out! thanks guys!
s1cs is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

How did you fix it?
__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 02:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 23
Default

kinda what cowticket was talking about. the small ATX power connector was disconnected.
s1cs is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 06:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Always try the easy stuff first!!!
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.