URGENT!!! SP2 Caused a MAJOR PROBLEM!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2006, 07:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Default Problem FIXED

Before you read this post, the issue is solved, solution is on the last 2 posts.

Hey all, I think the installation of SP2 caused a MASSIVE screw up on my BRAND NEW PC!
I was installing SP2 when suddenly there was some error about validationtool.dll or something occured, i just continued and about 40 mins after it finnished install i had to reboot my pc, so i rebooted and it was loading windows XP but it kept on looping for 10 minutes, so i tried the last good configuration thing, but didnt do anything. I tried a chkdsk /r in recovery console but said too many unrecoverable errors were existing.
So i re-intalled, reformatted with the XP disk and it's all well and good, it installed from the XP disk, then it rebooted, but instead of entering the XP install (the second part) it comes up with " A disk read error occurred Press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart"

HELP. I CANT EVEN INSTALL WINDOWS!!!!
I tried everything to install windows, tried all the options but NOTHING is working. I think SP2 screwed my harddrive... or something... but in bios my hard drive is still getting detected n what not.. someone PLEASE help. ITS URGENT!!!
__________________

Xcel is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 07:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Sounds like a hard drive error espcially if check disk came back with bad news.

Cant you even boot from cd anymore to format the hard disk?
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 07:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Default

im making a bootable Seagate iso disk to see if i can format it with that instead of windows xp disk.
Xcel is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 07:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Default

k i did a reformat on my seagate bootable disk, I sure HOPE it has some effect or else I probably am doomed!
Currently installing Widnows
Xcel is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 07:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Default

K sorry 2 waste your time people i rly am. But looks like the windows format is super super suckage and it's finally installing. Yet again sorry for wasting anyone's time
Xcel is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 08:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

You haven't wasted any ones time its what this forums for helping people with possible problems. Still once windows is installed I recommend running check disk just to make sure.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.