urgent, cracking password, please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2003, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Post urgent, cracking password, please help

I have a power on password that neededs cracking. I can't get to the floppy drive, so i need another way to get past it. Its on a IBM Thinkpad 701c Laptop. So, if any one has any knoweldge or way to get me past this password I would be Greatful.


nrs is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934

boot from cd! and install the OS again!

<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313

Ask the owner/administrator of the laptop the password.

When someone puts "urgent, cracking password, please help" it doesn't give the best impression of why you need this. Not that we really need to know, but I don't want to help you into a laptop if you stole it or if your not a legitimate user.

Need more info.
You could say I've been around.
Shakie is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

All I can say is get the $$$$$

When the Power-On password is enabled on an IBM TP,, there is a little security chip near the cmos battery,, usually between it and the CLEAR CMOS jumper,,

When this password is set ,, and forgotten ,, there is NO WAY to get past it unless you call IBM and ask for the History of the TP,, they will tell you where it went and what business had it,, they keep good records,,, as long as you are legit,, they will help,,

BUT here is the thing ,, IBM has a tool for getting past this issue,, I mean lets face it , they built it,, but YOU cannot access this utility unless you send it to IBM and they do it for a LARGE sum of $$$$$$$$$,, Plus ,, you have to prove BEYOND any DOUBT that you are the rightful owner of the TP,, this does include an ANAL swab,,so if you have a weak stomach,, good luck!!

The other option is to have the Security chip replaced,, this costs about 250 bucks canadian,, and what they do is replace the security chip on the underside of the board,, BUT ,, they also wipe the HDD clean,, HAVE TO,, NO OTHER OPTION,,

There is a guy in Australia, who has a website that posts a little unit that you build that connects to the serial port and reads the HEX of the security chip,, you send it to him,,he translates and charges you for the password recovery,, but I cant find the link anymore,,

Search into this issue online,, you will find that what I am telling you is accurate,,

The quickest way is to change the security chip,, fact is ,, you lose $$$ and all your info on the HDD,,

Sorry for the news Mate,, I had to swallow an issue like this EXACTLY,,

The place I sent my laptop was in NORTH BAY ONTARIO CANADA,,

Not sure how close you are to there,, but it was the only place in Ontario that I could find that would do it,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 12-11-2003, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204

if i remember correctly, you may be screwed. . . I dont believe the thinkpads have a jumper to clear the bios and if the HD was secured with the password, then the data is gone unless you get the password, even big blue cannot get the data back. . . its a feature. . .

thinkpads without the passwords are just pretty expensive bookends....
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan

<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500



Reformatting does NOT clear the CMOS password

NEITher does CLEARING THE CMOS settings ,, all you will get then are other errors for setting the date and time,,,



Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.