Upgrading to XP pro question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2007, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Upgrading to XP pro question

I have a friend that wants to give his older computer to his mother. It is a Compaq and he has since upgraded to XP pro form ME. Anyway I was doing a reinstall using the upgrade disc he has when it ran into and error that a google search did nothing to find. I lost the paper I had the message written on but the search pulled up nothing. Well, I had to quit the reinstall but now when I go to retry again it is telling me I need to reinstall the original ME from Compaq before I go on. Problem is they can't seem to find the original disc. What can a person do to get it to go or are we out of luck?
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 06:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

tell compaq to send you another me disc
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

are you booting from the cd or booting from within windows?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

There's one article on seeing a clean install of XP with an upgrade disk only found at the link here that may help. http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...p_sg_clean.asp

"If you are attempting to clean install with a Windows XP Home or Pro Upgrade CD, you will see this screen, which requires you to insert your previous Windows CD in order to verify that you qualify for the Upgrade version.
Curiously, it says that you can use CDs from Windows NT 3.51 and Windows 95 in addition to those from 98, 98 SE, Millennium, or 2000, though these products cannot be upgraded to XP.

Once you've proven that you qualify, hit ENTER to continue."
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

Safe to delete additional posts failed to appear in new post section earlier. Please delete
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

Safe to delete
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

Safe to delete
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ben_ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 350
Default Re: Upgrading to XP pro question

find your key in your computer download a windows key finder and changer or whatever download me and re-install using your legit key
__________________

ben_ben is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Question cheezhead18 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-13-2007 12:23 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.