upgrading to windows 2000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 03:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default upgrading to windows 2000

hey i have a computer that currently has windows 95 on it and i want to install windows 2000 on it. i put the cd in but noting happend. can sum1 help me out?
__________________

DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 04:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 244
Default

did u try rebooting with the CD in? maybe its a boot CD only.
__________________

__________________
Have A Nice Day
chickenNcheese is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default

yea it went straight to windows.
DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

make sure cd-rom is first boot in the bios.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default

did that and it still booted windows xp
DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

most win 95 machines can't boot to cd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You will need to make a floppy bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com.

Make sure it's made for Windows 2000. I think you will need about 4 floppys.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.