upgrading to new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2007, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default upgrading to new computer

I have a 3 year old cpu and is giving it to my mother because she needs it...
i bought a new one and would like to restore to factory settings. or reformat
the drive...i have win xp how do i do that? delete everything and start from scratch.....

can someone help me
thanks
__________________

stacked2008 is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 11:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

You would have to get into the BIOS, and set the boot priority, so that it boots from the CD drive. After that, save the settings, insert the XP CD, and restart the computer. Then just follow the instructions to install Windows XP on your new computer.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

You mean actual CPU or the whole computer itself?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

I want to give my mom my old computer but....i wana erase the stuff on it first...what are the steps i need to take to bring it back to factory settings
with a clean hdd
stacked2008 is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 07:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

B1gaple just told you.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 08:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

ok i think i missed the boat on this one...i think im getting confused here
hes saying on your new computer...its not new its 3 years old and wana
erase whatever i have so my mom will have it the way it was 3 years ago
stacked2008 is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 08:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

I'm sorry if I misunderstood.

Was this old computer a prebuilt? If so, use the recovery disc that came with it, to revert back to the way it was bought.

If not, you can do the steps that I explained in my previous post.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 08:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

the comp is 3 years old and have to drives c: and D:
on the D: it says restore?? its not a prebuild i just wana wipe out
the c drive and start from scratch for my mother...i dont wana give my cpu
with software i downloaded for the pass 3 years....follow?
stacked2008 is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 09:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

So then, do the procedure I mentioned before:

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl
You would have to get into the BIOS, and set the boot priority, so that it boots from the CD drive. After that, save the settings, insert the XP CD, and restart the computer. Then just follow the instructions to install Windows XP.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 09:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: upgrading to new computer

Thanks again for the info
__________________

stacked2008 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Need Help upgrading my Computer for Crysis! Fayt19 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-15-2007 08:07 PM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.