Upgrading ME to XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2004, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default Upgrading ME to XP

Have a friend who made a computer just for regular stuff and loaded it with ME a couple years back . . .

anyways he had gotten a 5400RPM drive and later on got another 7200RPM drive . . .

ME is loaded onto the 5400RPM drive; will he be able to upgrade to XP and place it on the 7200RPM?

he's really worried about it for some reason . . .

thanks
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

he should make a disk copy or make an image and put it on his new drive.

I don't know about upgrading from ME to XP....I always thought ME was the one wich wasn't upgradable, but others say its Win2k...not sure
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well i think he has 98se, but he thinks he has ME since it crahses a lot

how abouts would he go to make a disk copy or make an image?

also, he just im'ed me saying that he got a raptor 10k for his other gmaing machine and he wanted to put xp on that hdd instead of the 7200 seagate that he has . . .

i think he got the oem windows xp pro . .
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

that wouldn't be a coinsidance: craching+ME...its almost the same word...

I use PowerQuest Partition Magic to copy a drive and PowerQuest Drive Image to make images. The newest version of Drive Image is called V2i and it makes images without the need of rebooting your PC.

I'm not familiar with HD's...is the raptor IDE or SATA?
I don't know how it works with SATA.

And I think updating 98 > Xp will be no problem...

You can ugrade first and then copy or make an image and restore it on the new drive, or first copy or image and upgrading afterwards.

Partiton Magic is very simple...you install the program in windows and create the bootdisks....boot with them and select copy drive or something.

For Drive Image its the same procedure..make disks, reboot and make an image and store it somwhere...then start Drive Image in windows 98/ME and select 'restore image' and put it on the new drive....it will boot without the need to make any changes, just put the new drive on the IDE channel wich has been used for the old Windows and start comp.

I'm not, sure, but maybe drive image can copy disks/partitions ,also.

With V2i you can skip the bootdisks and reboot while making an image, although Im not sure it works that way in 98. You need at least 256RAM.

Hope this helps.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

raptor = sata
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

so partition magic is to copy a drive and drive image is to copy files?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

partiton magic = copy drive/manage partitions
drive image=making images/copies of files/folders/entire drives or partitions.

V2i=newer version of Drive Image=better
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

lol then i'd rather get drive image v2I . . .

thank you major!
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you're welcome
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.