Upgrading 95 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2003, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default Upgrading 95

Recieved a computer that has Windows 95 on it, and I want to upgrade it to 98. I have the Windows 98 disk from another computer but when I tried to install it, a message came up that said it needed Windows 98 Upgrade. Is that a whole different CD that is going to cost me hundreds of dollars?
__________________

LunaNox is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 08:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, personally, I would just create a Windows98 boot disk and then use fdisk to re-partition/re-format the drive and then install a clean instance of Windows 98. This is a new PC right? If there is no data that you want to save then don't bother with an upgrade or just removing the windows directory in DOS. This is a silly response as you will have to install the applications that were on this machine all over again anyway.
If you need assistance with any of the above functions with your Windows 98 boot disk, let me know, I'd be happy to help.

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

Mike is right if you hae the full version of windows 98 you might as well use it. There are plenty of drivers out there so that you can update the old computer to windows 98 without any problems. Also it is alot easier to do.
mitschej is offline  
Old 11-29-2003, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

did some one say windows 95 and new in the same sentance i think not lol (windows 95 is sooo behind the times) no offense to anyone who still uses the old thing
__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 97lt2959
did some one say windows 95 and new in the same sentance i think not lol (windows 95 is sooo behind the times) no offense to anyone who still uses the old thing
Uh...new as in, "just got it" not new as in, "brand new off the shelves computer"
LunaNox is offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 169
Default

ok me thinks my post was one of those where you post thinking your saying something witty and then the next day you relise you were talknig complete and utter sh1t. so just ignore me.

But his first post did say windows 95 so...? anyways ignore me
__________________
Some System Specs:

Windows XP Service Pack 2
MXD 1600XB
CPU AMD Duron 1.6GHz
Memory 1.46GB DDR400 PC3200
HardDrive 40GB 7200rpm ATA133
Motherboard KM400 Chipset Skt A 333FSB
Graphics Card OnBoard 2D/3D Graphics
Sound Card OnBoard Sound
802.11b Wireless Network Card
Monitor GNR Flat Screen 15\"
Writer Combi - 52x32x52 CDRW + 16x DVD
Modem N/A - LAN 10/100 (Disabled)
Case Midi 300W ATX
Floppy 1.44MB 3.5\"
Keyboard A4TECH Wireless Keyboard
Mouse A4TECH Wireless Mouse
GNR Flat Screen LCD Monitor
97lt2959 is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, maybe silly was a bad word. But, in my opinion, the assistance given in that post was a little...well.....silly.
Sorry, really no offense meant. I just really enjoy tech forums such as this one, and to keep people coming back, I believe in true assistance and well-thought out responses.
By the way, Luna, was everything figured out ok?

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.