upgraded to vista and now seems slower to load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2007, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Default upgraded to vista and now seems slower to load

I had an xp and sold it and upgraded to a hp fusion with vista
when i turn on the cpu i find its slower to load and open up programs?
is there any way around this?

in the start up session is there any way to speed things up?


stacked2008 is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: upgraded to vista and now seems slower to load

It's vista, and as of now is not as good as xp. you also have an hp, what specs is it?


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: upgraded to vista and now seems slower to load

I recently went back to xp, not because of performance issues but i will say once back on xp it is faster and more responsive.

As above what are your specs?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default Re: upgraded to vista and now seems slower to load

Vista requires a lot of system power and resources, 512mb ram (1GB better), a 1ghz+ CPU and 15-20gb of hard disk space. Most original windows xp machines pre-vista release won't run the O.S at all or not very well due to minimal power and hardware support including drivers.
callmewilson is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: upgraded to vista and now seems slower to load

try to install all the updates available. When I reformatted with Vista RTM it was painfully slow to even copy files and move them around. Once I did all the updates it seems they improved on the speed quite a bit.

Intel Core i7-860
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.