upgrade to XP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2004, 05:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

733 PIII and 192 is fast enough for XP
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 10:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

i ran xp pro on this computer but it was only really able to run mozila firefox.

also if u have to format your harddrive u have to save a couple of files one of them was deltree cant remember the other one, as my xp wouldn't boot from dos.


anouther thing is it took ages to actually put onto the machine nearly 2 hours (and also i had to put 98se on it twice, so it ended taking about 5 hours to get xp on it. so pick a day that you dont have to go out on.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 02:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 51
Default

hmmm...i think i'm confidence enough to get XP now on my PC.
__________________
nicholas saputra
nichol is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 03:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Yeah, XP runs just fine [I was using xp with a 450Mhz processor and 128 MB RAM ,with all the themes,styles disabled..it worked well ].
Be sure to check the 'system compatiblity' and take a peek at the softwares and hardwares that doesnt run after you upgrade to XP.
intercodes is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 03:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

all the hardware that i have (printer, scanner, digicamera, modem (but is programed to work seperatly from the pc), speakers) all didnt need the cd, but nearly all the cds didn't work with xp anyway, so i was hopeing it to automatically install.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-04-2004, 07:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Der...how fast is that, derrmc? Is that like 1000MHz? :freak:
You bug me one more time about a type error and that will be the last time!
derrmc is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 05:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 51
Default

may i know what the most suitable (or might the best version of XP) for home and gaming use? what risks will i meet when using this? bugs or something can majeur my hardware for improperly use?
thanks friends.
__________________
nicholas saputra
nichol is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 05:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Both Home Edition and Pro are good.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 06:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

On the cd be sure to check the compatibility of your hardware/software.
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.