upgrade to vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2007, 07:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
j3wcl@w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 99
Default upgrade to vista

Hi when i built my new rig a month ago i also bought vista 64 bit ultimate but at the time the driver support was poor so i decided to wait. Obviously more and more people are upgradeing to vista and i am pondering when is a good time to upgrade is now the time?. Also i am running raid1 and how do you install raid on vista 64
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake armour LCS Watercooled
Asus P5N32-SLI Mobo
Intel Core2 quad Extreme Q6600 OC'd to (4x3.00 )
Ati Powercolour Hd 4870 1048mb
4GB OCZ DDR2 800 MHZ
X3 Western Digital raptor's 80gb 10,000 Rpm
Enermax 1000W Galaxy
Saitek Cyborg Keyboard
Logitech G9 lazer mouse
Windows Vista ultimate 64 bit
j3wcl@w is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: upgrade to vista

If Vista recognizes your RAID array it will install just like it owuld on a normal drive.

As far as the driver support it will be lower with a 64 Bit system since there is less driver support for that than a 32 bit system in the first place.

But overall the driver support from developers and manufactorers is less than satisfactory. It is still very sub-par. Which is a big dis-appointment since Vista has been out for almost 2 months already.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: upgrade to vista

What reason do you feel the need to upgrade to vista? DX10 has not been released, nor has SP1. Driver support for Vista is still spotty. If you dont have any dire need to upgrade to vista, hold off until SP1 or DX10 is released. If you are itching for the graphic features then you have to determine if it is worth the price tag.

Check out this thread for more vista thoughts:

"Upgraded" from Vista to XP
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: upgrade to vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by AND_YOU_ARE View Post
What reason do you feel the need to upgrade to vista? DX10 has not been released, nor has SP1. Driver support for Vista is still spotty. If you dont have any dire need to upgrade to vista, hold off until SP1 or DX10 is released. If you are itching for the graphic features then you have to determine if it is worth the price tag.

Check out this thread for more vista thoughts:

"Upgraded" from Vista to XP
DX10 caomes packaged with Vista. It will not be released for XP at all. this is known. Run a dxdiag on a Vista system and you will see that it says DX10.



Also there is no need to wait for SP1. Why does everyone always say that. Did everyone wait for SP1 before jumping to XP...No so why wait now?

SP1 will only be the updates that they have out now just bundled into a big thing called a SP. Considering that there is only 3 Mandatory patches out there right now for Vista why wait? The driver support is the only real reason to hold off. Not a SP.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: upgrade to vista

Yes, I waited to upgrade to XP after SP1 was released.

While it may come with DX10, nothing uses DX10 yet.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-26-2007, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: upgrade to vista

Actually there are several games that already do. Such as Company of Heroes, Lego Star Wars 2, among others. So there are about 5 games right now that use DX10. Just that there is only 2 types of DX10 cards out there right now.

The nVidia 8800 line and the ATi R600 line. Other than that there isnt a DX10 card out.

Still there is no major reason to wait. A service pack is just the updates to date and maybe a added feature like XP SP2 security center. Other than that it is just the combo of all updates.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Re: upgrade to vista

Vista fans say there's no major reason to wait, but remember one thing. If you downgrade to Vista now, you will be working around your operating system, while in reality, it should be your operating system working for you. There is absolutely nothing you gain by downgrading besides some eye candy which looks sleek at first, but its not a big deal when you get used to it.

I can see making the switch if you are an uber gamer when games such as UT2007 and Crysis emerge, but ONLY if you have a DX10 capable card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 01:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: upgrade to vista

I dont have to work around the OS. I tell it what to do and it does it. Just like XP. So where is the arguement there? Vista acts just like XP does if you know how to work with the OS not against it.

The downgrade is XP since it has less security, older protocols, no drive encryption, basically no protection like Vista has. So why stay with XP?

YHes the Video Card is the only limitation you have for GAMES. As far as everything else a decent DX9 card that you can get for just about $50-$75 will work just fine with Vista.

I dual boot between Vista and XP. I find myself less and less in XP cause i dont need to have a firewall installed on Vista. The Virus protection is installed but pointless since there isnt any real Virues written for Vista yet. Ohh yeah and i have every applicaiotn that i used on XP installed and working on Vista.

I might be a fanboy of Vista but that is only cause i have it working for me. It does everything i need it too and i have had no problem with anything. From gaming to DVD copying to TV recording i get it all done. Maybe people need to try and work with Vista more isntead of saying it sucks and to stick with XP.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 01:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Re: upgrade to vista

Good for you that Vista has worked for you. I'm happy for you, really. However, you are more of an exception rather than the rule.

I used Vista for almost 2 months and tried to make it work and like it. Thing is, its just not ready for primetime yet. Not all of its Microsoft's fault. Major companies like HP or Nvidia/ATI seemed to have been totally blindsided by the release of Vista. Not to mention Creative whose crappy Vista drivers defeat the purpose of having a dedicated sound card. My X-Fi sounds like night and day on XP compared to crap on Vista.

Here is a real enlightnening video on this subject.

beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-27-2007, 03:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: upgrade to vista

[QUOTE=beedubaya;1067569]Vista fans say there's no major reason to wait, but remember one thing. If you downgrade to Vista now,

how can you downgrade to vista when its the latest OS
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.