Upgrade Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2007, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Upgrade Questions

So I have a Vista Lappy with a GeForce Go 6150 and 1g of memory and dual 1.64processors would getting another gig of ram sigificantly improve my gaming?

i dont wanna spend alot
or would I be better off getting a better video card

I want to play games like Doom 3 and stuff that only take 64mb video ram

thanks in advance
__________________

Shane12m is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 04:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

lmao....you cant upgrade a laptops video card...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

oh really i didnt know that ...but would another gig of ram do alot for my gaming experience with my vid card...
Shane12m is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
lmao....you cant upgrade a laptops video card...
LMAO....WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!

Many laptops now a days you can. Just have to make sure the Card is designed for Laptops. I just repolaced one yesterday. So it can be done. You have to know what you are doing. If you have not worked on a laptop take it to the Geek Squad or someplace of good stature and have them work on it and replace the Video Card for you.

Laptops now are make close to desktops. So that you can upgrade them and keep up with the times. So instead of using a outdated laptop you can keep up with the times.

The laptop i worked on had a slot on the bottom of it with several screws that had to be removed. After removing those screws it looked just like a desktop video card only smaller. I just unplugged it, put in the new one, booted into safe mode to remove all the old drivers and install the new ones. Done.

Like i said above. If you have not worked on a laptop before make sure you find someone who can. Dont take the chance of messing up your new laptop. Unless it is still under warrenty. Then have some fun. :laughing:
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

oh thank god i was mad if in the future i couldnt upgrade my new baby : )

but does anyone know about if an extra gig of ram will make a big diff in gaming in vista?
Shane12m is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

Take it to geek squad...........? Thats gotta be a joke!!.

lol
Ste is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

Even my little stupid brain is smarter than the geek squad...gotta be kidding me
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 110
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

well thanks for the help but anyone know about the ram question?
Shane12m is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

The RAM might help. But since it is shared GFX it wont due much. It is always better to have a dedicated Video card over a shared GFX anyday.

The Geek Squad was just a suggestion. I know they suck. But it is better to let them fubar it and get a free replacement than to try it yourself and not have anything.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrade Questions

it should due something, at least it gives the system more memory
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Vista Upgrade Christon Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-07-2007 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.