Upgrade from Home to Pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2004, 03:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Magma Send a message via Yahoo to Magma
Default Upgrade from Home to Pro?

Ok so I bought a windows XP PRO Disk from school (using my student card only cost me 10$) Im wondering now.

Will is wipe all my software, games etc. Or just replace the system files? Also. Will I have to activate Windows again?

Also I have a 120GB HDD and wasnt thinking when I got the comp... I should have partitioned it to 100gb and a 20gb

20 for windows the rest for programs and games etc etc. Any free tools which I could use to change that without harming my files?
__________________

__________________
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/8...r562600sj9.gif
CPU:AMD 3000+
RAM:1gb PC 3200
GFX:Nvidia FX5200 128mb
HDD:120gb 7200rpm, 200gb 7200rpm
OS:Windows XP Home SP1+2

Half-Life 2 Completed in Under 11 Hours
Magma is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

format = the best
just save ur system files somewhere else (cd or HD)
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Upgrading won't erase your data. You should always backup your data before you do anything major to a machine, but you shouldn't run into any problems.

As for partitioning your drive, if all you want to do is seperate things out, don't waste your time. Leave it all as one drive and just do some organizing. You've already got a Program Files folder that sets up with Windows, and if you want a seperate spot for loading all yer games, just create a folder in yer C: drive called "Games" and load yer games in there. Creating a partition, especially if you've already got data on the drive, has the potential of creating a mess and will also become a hassle for you later on as that 20gig partition gets full. Gone are the days where you need multiple partitions for data. Unless yer going to install another OS on the drive, you shouldn't create more than one partition, IMOP.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Upgrading won't erase your data. You should always backup your data before you do anything major to a machine, but you shouldn't run into any problems.

As for partitioning your drive, if all you want to do is seperate things out, don't waste your time. Leave it all as one drive and just do some organizing. You've already got a Program Files folder that sets up with Windows, and if you want a seperate spot for loading all yer games, just create a folder in yer C: drive called "Games" and load yer games in there. Creating a partition, especially if you've already got data on the drive, has the potential of creating a mess and will also become a hassle for you later on as that 20gig partition gets full. Gone are the days where you need multiple partitions for data. Unless yer going to install another OS on the drive, you shouldn't create more than one partition, IMOP.
don't agree...I think u should create a seperate partition for files like MP3's, docs etc..this way u don't need to copy them somewhere else when u format ur drive
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Magma Send a message via Yahoo to Magma
Default

ok well what should I use to partition....
__________________
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/8...r562600sj9.gif
CPU:AMD 3000+
RAM:1gb PC 3200
GFX:Nvidia FX5200 128mb
HDD:120gb 7200rpm, 200gb 7200rpm
OS:Windows XP Home SP1+2

Half-Life 2 Completed in Under 11 Hours
Magma is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 05:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

partition magic
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Magma Send a message via Yahoo to Magma
Default

its not free....
__________________
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/8...r562600sj9.gif
CPU:AMD 3000+
RAM:1gb PC 3200
GFX:Nvidia FX5200 128mb
HDD:120gb 7200rpm, 200gb 7200rpm
OS:Windows XP Home SP1+2

Half-Life 2 Completed in Under 11 Hours
Magma is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Assuming you bought your HD from a store, did it come with any software on a disk? If it did there should be a program you run directly from the disk that will allow you to partition the drive.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 09-13-2004, 06:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Magma
its not free....
its the best out there...get the trial
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.