Upgrade 2000 to XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default Upgrade 2000 to XP Pro

Want to upgrade Windows 2000 to XP Pro. Do I need an upgrade CD? OR can I use the full blown version of XP Pro to do an upgrade? (Meaning I don't have to do a full reinstall if I use the full version of XP Pro to upgrade)
__________________

andrena is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default

I believe you can use the full version of XP to do an upgrade.
__________________

madcat75 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

So that it saves all the data and just writes XP overtop of 2000?
andrena is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default

Yes when you do an upgrade it saves all of the data and just gives you a new operating system.
madcat75 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yup I would just get the full XP Pro disc all your data will be saved no worries.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Tyler is right....you simply put the XP cd in with your desktop active and you will be given the option, in a drop down, to do an upgrade or full install...chose upgrade and your old system will be backed-up and a restore point created in case the XP install fubares!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 10:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks all, I am a little bit smarter now?
andrena is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 10:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

hopefully
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.